A Fishy Weekend-The Road to Healthier Eating

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week I had a craving for Fish and fish only!  So, I promised myself that I would buy fish for this past weekend and the next two weeks to come.  I purchased GLAD freezer storage bags so that I wouldn’t have to make multiple trips to the fish market.  The fish market that I prefer is 45 minutes to an hour away from my home, so storing is the best option.

I bought Porgy and Croaker fish, for they’re my favorites.  I like Red Snapper too, yet it’s expensive and I am trying hard to budget better.  Anyway, no more boring details!  Above is my documentary of A Fishy Weekend. 

I always soak my meats (seafood, steak and chicken) in water and vinegar before I season.  I steamed and fried the fishes this weekend, yes I said, fried.  I believe that if you want to diet, you should have a little of what you’re use to eating.  People who start cold turkey, most times end up pigging out one day, and then the next and so on and so forth; which turns into the point of “No Return.”  On this road to eating healthier, I am giving it a twist.

My parents are from the Caribbean, so I utilize their cooking style and I love it!  To steam fish, I put a little water in a pot with a few sticks of butter, and then I add flavored vegetables, such as, scallion which I slice in halves for added flavor, thyme and most times (not this time) green, red, and yellow bell peppers.  I added broccoli, cauliflower, and yellow squash, and let each side of the fish steam for about 10 minutes or more depending on the size of the fish.  Lastly, you’ll know when the fish is ready, if you’re not sure, asks someone.

The images above reflect the fish when it is seasoned and cooked.  The journey to my Fishy Weekend continues, enjoy!

Additional purchases:

  • Gallons of water
  • Olive Oil for frying
  • Cauliflower
  • Squash
  • Broccoli
  • Baby Romaine lettuce
  • Okra
  • Brown Rice
  • Lentil peas
Leave a Reply

